The European Parliament has agreed on how to divide the vacant seats after Brexit

The total number of members of the EP will be 706


France and Spain will get five additional seats in the European Parliament after the British exit from the European Union. About it reports RBC-Ukraine with reference to EUobserver.

European Parliament Committee on constitutional government approved a corresponding amendment to the draft report on the allocation of the British quota among the 27 EU countries.

Previously, the authors of the draft report stated that the total number of MEPs should be 700. However, in the updated document appears to 706 members.

Additional space will also receive Netherlands, Poland, Ireland, Romania.

We will remind, on January 18 the lower house of the British Parliament in the third reading adopted the bill on Brexit. 324 Deputy of the house of Commons supported the bill, he voted against 295 MPs.